Happy hunting
2005-02-20...11:03 p.m.


Well, tomorrow is the first big day. I'm just about as excited to go on my first large-game hunt as I am for our trip to Hawaii!

I researched the areas we're designated to hunt in, and I have a pretty good idea of where I want us to be. I'm a-burnin' and a-yearnin' to tag-out, although I won't be disappointed if I'm only succesful in bagging a coyote or two. I picked up a new skinning kit at the tool show on Friday, and I'm kind of itching to use it. Since I'm still not adept at tanning, I will definitely be sending good pelts to a professional taxidermist. If I get a good javelina, I might even skin it for the cape and have it tanned for mounting. That would be so cool, to mount my first large cape myself! I don't know what I'll do with coyotes, although I love the idea of doing a mount with a rabbit hanging out of a coyote's mouth, or maybe with the coyote standing in an aggressive pose over a rabbit. That would be gorgeous. I'd love to toss a snake in the mix, but I'll definitely have to wait a few months for that. Plus I'd like to have new .22 into which I can drop some snakeshot. Ha ha! So THAT'S what I want for my birthday this year!

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker