Patting myself on the back
2004-05-19...7:59 p.m.


I've actually managed to stay pretty well in control today, at least up until the last hour or so. Which isn't a huge surprise, because the kids act like they just got a huge dose of PCP, sans violence. Well, mostly sans violence.

I did a lot more than I planned on, but I still missed some things.

First, I took Alex down to the WIC office. Since I was half an hour early, I decided to take him in and play catch up on his shots since it's in the same building. They couldn't find his complete records, and said they'd have to call his doctor (who practices in the next town over) and get them either verbally or faxed. I waited until about 5 minutes before my other appointment, and told them I'd come back afterwards.

Quick note on WIC:

They like to ask questions about things my kids eat, and then I feel guilty because they are potential choking hazards. Yeah. If you let your kid inhale without chewing and run psycho around the yard in the process. Anyway.

I went back upstairs after WIC was done grilling me. They said they had to have an information release (even though they are in the same county, and they're the COUNTY health department!!!) signed and faxed to the doc. I waited for another hour, and I said that I would just have to come back in a week, and I'd bring both kids in. I just had way too much to do today.

After that, I went and picked up D****. She wound up bringing the kids because she's pretty much convinced that A*****'s going to have a seizure the moment she turns her back. I took her to the food bank and to DES to get her application in for health care and food stamps. The kids gotta eat, ya know?

Afterwards, Alex proclaimed his fatigue and said he wanted to go home, which was fine by me, and Dad was willing to babysit. We went to Wally World, where I planned on some serious freebie shopping. My total before coupons was $61.82. After coupons? $6.51!!! Woohoo! Granted, $33 worth was infant formula, but they're doing a food drive and had a box right by the door to go to the food bank (take a little, give a little, right?) so I dropped the 3 cans of formula in there on my way out the door. Too fun, watching that total get divided by 10. Yeehaw!!!

I got the bean bags made. I bought crayons, and I cut out paper balloons.

All in all, a productive day, in spite of the fact that not everything got done. And in spite of that, I feel pretty good.



the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker