Back to school...For me?
2004-07-13...6:19 p.m.


While in the midst of deciding what I want to do with my life after both kids are in school, I decided to look through the local community college catalog. I read through the courses required for an Associate of the Applied Sciences degree, and realized that I'd taken all but two of the classes required to fulfill the degree. Granted, it was 6 years ago, and I didn't even remember if I'd passed any of the classes, because that was during the time when Corey was VERY unsupportive of my education. I'd tell him that I had to study and go to the computer lab, and he'd huff and grunt and ask, "How LONG is this going to TAKE?" Because the poor SOB was stuck taking care of his own daughter while I was studying.

Anyhow, it turns out that I only failed one class - hilariously enough, CIS 110 - Introduction to Computer Information Systems. Of course, I didn't live on the computer back then, but still. Probably the easiest course to pass, but since I didn't have a computer at home, it didn't really matter. I have a GPA of 2.0, which, after repeating CIS 110 and taking Intermediate Algebra and English Composition II and passing with flying colors (because, DUH, why wouldn't I???), I can have that GPA well over 3.0. I'm thinking 3.42 (if my math is correct, and if it's not, well, I'll figure it out in Algebra. LOL).

It's just a general education degree, but all but one of the courses can go towards the next degree up, which would be the AA or the AS. After completing the first degree, I'll only be 7 classes away. Now I just have to figure out how to make the US Dept. of Education pay for it. I don't think I'm going to qualify for a Pell Grant. At least not without getting divorced LOL. Corey makes too much money, I'm afraid. But I guess I'll find out tomorrow when I go to talk to the Financial Aid office. I'm thinking that between books, supplies, tuition, and Internet class fees, it will cost about $850. And I'll NEED to take the classes online. I want to get them done in the Fall semester, and that way I'll have the degree under my belt already. Then, when the time comes for Alex to start school, I may be able to get a better paying job than what I can get now. I'm getting too old and fragile to wait tables!

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker