Icy Morning
2004-10-29...2:10 p.m.


I feel like something a kindergartener would mine for and wipe off under his seat.

I got quite a bit accomplished for feeling so crummy today though.

First of all, WTF was up with the 1/4" thick ice on the goddamn windshield this morning? Huh? Hello! This is supposed to be a DESERT. Just a gentle reminder for the powers that be - I'm not supposed to see my own breath until AFTER Election Day.

That said, I decided to take Mercedes to school, because I knew it was cold outside. She wound up being late because I didn't anticipate a 15 minute scrape/defrost session. But she DID get to school.

After I dropped her off, I stopped by Circle K for a cup of coffee for me and a hot chocolate for Alex. Then we headed to the DMV to pay for the tags on Dad's trailer. I'm glad we got the hot drinks - they opened 10 minutes late, and we'd gotten there 10 minutes early - 20 minutes of standing in weather that was probably 35 degrees or less. YUCK. But I did it!

I decided to swing by Donna's and find out what's up with her hubby. For those who aren't up to date on the story, he's in jail for failing to meet the requirements of his probation. He went to jail previously for non-payment of child support, and the terms of his probation were to make a set payment - which he agreed upon. So now he's waiting extradition back to Ohio.
First of all, their room smells funky. Like stale smoke and B.O. It's pretty nasty. Second, the kids were there, and not at school. Hell, not even awake. Donna's mother told me that Akristia was sick. When Donna woke up, I asked her what was wrong with Akristia. "Nothing, she missed the bus." I told her to make her walk, and she laughed, "Yeah right!" Um? If it was my kid? Goddamn RIGHT she would be walking to school!!! I'm sorry, but the girl thinks she's old enough to have sex, then she's old enough to walk that ass the 2 or 3 miles to school. The twins haven't been to school for over a week.
I got a headache within 10 minutes of being there, so I left.

I came home and called about the parts for the van and Dad's car. The parts for his car are in, and I take it to the shop Tuesday morning. If Corey has to work, then I'll probably have to take the bus home. The parts for the van STILL aren't in. (Just after I wrote that, Corey asked about it and acted like a complete ass. THAT'S what I need - someone jumping down my throat in spite of everything I did because I didn't tell the guys at the shop that EXACLTY WHEN we need the van fixed by. Thanks.)

I did the dishes and took out the trash. Corey's home now, asked if I was hungry. I told him right away that I didn't feel like going anywhere, because the normal question to follow that one is "where do you want to go to eat?" He proceeded to jump down my throat for that, too. "Well, I COULD go get you something to eat, there ARE other options, you know!" I looked up at him, pretty much stared him down, and informed him that he doesn't have to do anything for me at all.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker