Closer
2004-04-24...9:06 a.m.


Well, yesterday was interesting.

First off - the good news...Corey just has a contusion (bone bruise) on the bottom of his thigh bone. No surgery necessary, and he'll be good as new with a little time. Our doctor was hilarious. He said, "Do you have any other bad habits I can give you hell about?" LOL!! Considering we quit smoking (a year ago, May 29th, WOOHOO!), we're doing pretty good. So he told him that he needs to do a monthly testicle exam. I was thrilled! Not because it's a turn on, but because you never really hear about self-exams for men, and you KNOW that they must need them. I asked how it was done, and he took the time out to explain, and to tell what to look for. I always appreciate the time and patience he exhibits. As far as health care providers go, I think he's tops.

And on to stuff that sucks:

Corey now understands how I feel after being blown off at the last minute. And it broke his heart. Damn Wayne. Corey's so big on planning, and Wayne knew DAYS in advance - Corey invited him to go shooting, and he accepted. Then we show up yesterday to pick him up, and he's got 2 people over - one working on his own truck that died at Wayne's house, and another apparently just visiting. He said he was expecting another guy to come over to talk about the boat that Wayne had purchased from him. We sat around in his front yard for about 20 minutes waiting for him. Then I finally asked him, "Are you about ready to go? We're losing daylight." He says, "Hell no, I'm not ready!" I'm thinking, Okay, well, let us know, or maybe start telling these other people that you had plans and you hate to chase them off, but you don't want to keep us waiting blahblahblah...

A few minutes later, Corey is totally blunt, and asks him if he's coming at all. Wayne tells him no, he can't. He let us sit around for 30 minutes, just wasting our time, without ever letting us know one way or the other. Corey was pissed, and obviously his feelings were hurt because every time we've made plans with this guy to go shooting, SOMEthing comes up. And of course, my macho man isn't going to let on that he feels like his friend doesn't care enough about him to offer him a little courtesy, so it just manifests as a general dark mood and anger (at least the anger was directed at the source).

So, once again, we went shooting alone. Not that I'm surprised or complaining. I love that I have Corey to share that with. And it struck me. Screw the rest of the world. Who needs it? I have a person who appreciates me for who I am, who would drop what he's doing at any given moment if I really need him, he loves me, and he likes spending time with me. I can stand up to anything with him behind me. I don't need a new friend, I have everything I need in the man I married. So while it's entertaining to have someone else around, I can do without.

Oh, and I found out that DBD (some people will know who I'm talking about) wants an apology from me. Corey told him not to hold his breath. I'm glad he said that, because in order for me to apologize (which I have no intention of doing no matter what) I would have to stick my nose back where it doesn't belong, and I simply refuse. He lied to me, he lied ABOUT me, and he can suck the asses of the dead rabbits in the outside fridge.

My resolutions (yeah, I know, it's not New Year's, but I don't HAVE to procrastinate if I don't want to!):

1)Recognize when something I'm about to do or say is going to involve me sticking my nose in someone else's business. I started this a couple of months ago, and I'm doing pretty damned good I think.

2)Not to expect anything out of anyone. If they want to hang out, cool, if not, fuck 'em. Not my problem, and I can wait until Corey's home if I need someone to talk to.

3)Learn to appreciate my body, no matter what it looks like, but also to get in shape for the sake of health (physical and mental). It's hard to be upset about weighing 40 lbs more than you used to when it's all muscle!

Yikes, I'm writing a novel! To make a long story even longer:

This sounds shitty, but I'm glad Corey finally understands where I'm coming from, and I feel closer to him for it. Pretty sad, but maybe I'll start appreciating, and showing it, what a great guy I've got.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker