-
2007-11-11...5:20 p.m.


On Friday, Mercedes asked how I felt about her going to a movie with a boy. I told her that I think that, for now, she needs an adult chaperone. She acquiesced, and asked if I could take her and this boy to the movies on Saturday. I decided that since I only had to work until 2:30 that I could do that.

When I got home, Corey was feeling all lovey-dovey and wanted to take me out to spend some time together. I'd, of course, forgotten about taking Mercedes and her friend to the movies. When she reminded me, I asked if we could reschedule. She looked downcast, but called him to let him know.

While we were out, I got a big nasty case of the guilties, so Corey and I paid our bill and went home. I apologized to Mercedes because I knew what had happened was very unfair to her, since her plans had been made first. I told her that if they still wanted to go, I could take them at 7:00.

We went, and I told the kids they could sit wherever they wanted. They chose to sit by me, which was fine with me. We watched the movie, and I took him home afterward.

On the way back to our house, Mercedes got indignant, wanting to know why she was allowed to go with her boyfriend without a chaperone 2 years ago. I tried to explain that things are different now because of the hormone thing. She got pissed off and demanded an explanation for why I couldn't trust her. I didn't know how to phrase what I wanted to tell her, so I told her that in a couple of years, maybe when she's 14 or so, she could start going on double or group dates.

"Oh, MOM, that is so 20th century!"

That's right, my daughter called me old-fashioned. Sheesh.

By this point, I was starting to get mad. I told her that she could do it my way or not go on dates at all. She's lucky that's all I said, what with it being Shark Week and all.

When we got home, I finally got it together in my head. I explained that when kids her age are alone, sometimes they feel pressured to act in ways that they don't want to, or aren't ready for. When there's an adult there, or friends, they have a little more of a safety net. "OMG, no, my mom's here, you dork!" It's not a lack of trust for her, it's for her protection.

I also told her that the same will go for Alex when he's her age. There are plenty of girls that may try to pressure him into doing things he doesn't want or isn't ready for.

This seems to have appeased her, at least for the time being. I'm trying as hard as I can to protect her and still be reasonable.

I can't believe this is only going to get harder.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker