...sutures and sedatives...
2004-09-26...7:55 a.m.


We went to the student bbq - we had to go back because while the email I got said it started at 4, the signs out front said it didn't start until 5:30. Between the time we first got there and the time we were actually supposed to be there, we stopped by Paul & Christine's. Which was very awkward. I hate it when Paul won't talk. It makes me feel like he's just waiting for me to leave, and the feeling that he hates me is always enhanced when he's like that. Plus Christine was depressed, and it almost seemed like she wanted to talk, but of course, it's impossible when he's sitting right there. So we took off to go buy new sets of soft-tip darts because we found out that there are dart boards in the new karaoke bar we like to go to, and got back to the college just as everything was getting started. Christopher C (whom I've known since I was about 8 - it's weird thinking that he's got to be pretty close to 40, especially since he's not a skinny little nerd like he was when I first met him LOL) was playing, and I saw some people I've known for years and years, but not seen in forever. I also got to meet one of my classmates, and learn about some of the clubs at the school.

AND I won a computer! Woohoo! I know absolutely nothing about this computer yet, except that it has a Pentium III processor and a 48x CDROM drive. I don't know what kind of memory, RAM, or operating system it has. I'm really hoping for WindowsXP or no OS at all - I'll be happy to install my own. If it's too slow for my purposes, I'll give it to Mercedes. There was no reason not to take that computer, even if it was a little obsolete. If nothing else, it's something I can upgrade, or trade up with. Anyway, very cool stuff! I can't wait until I can start digging into it and finding out what it's capable of.
We met Corey's folks in Barstow yesterday afternoon. For once, they were there on time! Unfortunately, um...we weren't. LOL. Oops. We had agreed to meet them there and then drive over to Hisperia to visit with some of his other family members.

Can I say a quick little something about that area of California? It is ugly. In so very many ways. The traffic is horrible. It was so congested that it took us about 45 minutes to go 10 miles, on a 40 mph road. The roads themselves are horrible. Where the rig traffic hasn't left craters - I mean potholes - it's left waves in the asphalt. And where the rig traffic doesn't go, the asphalt is all cracked with small chunks missing. Then there's the view on the way. The houses are ugly, the businesses look run down, even the landscaping (apparently done by the city) is dead or dying.

So we get to this house. This half-million dollar house. And I just can't figure out why anyone would pay so much money for such a beautiful house, when you have to spend any time you're not in it surrounded by such ugliness. Especially since the family that owns it is RETIRED. They don't have to live in such an ugly place "because that's where the money is." And yes, the house is lovely, but I can't see myself, personally, paying that much money for something like it. It's typical southern California. Spanish architecture. It only has 3 bedrooms and 2.5 baths. It does have exceptional closet space and a giant bathroom with a sunken garden tub, and a jacuzzi in the master bathroom, which IS pretty cool. There's a nice patio off the back, with grass and a small swimming pool, and I'm sure the view is beautiful about a week after it rains and the weeds in the distance have all turned green. There's also a barn, stables, and round pen on the property, but no horses.
It cracks me up because Corey's family was saying they kept getting lost in it. But it's a ranch-style house, all on one level, and it's just an L-shaped, so I can't see not being able to find your way once you've been through it once. Silly people.
Half a million dollars? Maybe I'm just weird, but I just don't see it. They could have the same amenities (and square footage) here for about 2/3 of that price.
Oh well. Maybe I'm just being sour grapes? I don't think so, though. I'm really happy with where I am (unless you want to count the lack of horse property and the excessive traffic). Of course, Corey was kind of carrying on about it. "Wouldn't you like to have something like that?" Um, not really. I didn't really care for the layout, I didn't like the style, and I most certainly didn't like the price. Besides, it wasn't exactly the most kid-friendly place - three fireplaces surrounded by brick? "Oh, it's just Mrs. Ham and her kids again - looks like little Alex's chin had another close encounter of the brick-kind," the ER nurse would say, "I'll get the sutures for him and the sedatives for his sister..."

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker