Patting myself on the back again....
2004-05-20...7:46 p.m.


And I deserve it, I think!

I've got almost nothing left to do for the party:

Buy & make food

Fix up divider for fishing game

Other than that, I'm set. I went by an appliance store today, and snagged a standing-freezer shipping box that I'm going to make Corey paint and help Mercedes decorate. It's plenty big enough for even an adult to sit down behind for the game. I made the targets (construction paper-covered, sand-filled toilet paper rolls) for the bean bag toss. I've gathered all of the party supplies, except the tape, which I haven't located yet, and put them all in a central location.

Today was Mercedes' last day of school for the year. I'm going to let her have the rest of the week and the weekend, but I've GOT to put her to work this Summer. I hope to start a schedule where she's practicing her academic skills as well as a little manual labor - i.e., housework.

I'm thinking about getting her the supplies to start a little business painting house numbers on curbs. A few cans of reflective paint, some stencils, and a little know-how & adult supervision, and she'll be on her way. No one else has done it, and since our neighborhood has brand-new curbs, I think she's highly likely to get people in the neighborhood to go for it. We'll have to conquer natural "talking to strangers" fears, but I think that the first time she gets money for it, she'll be banging the neighbors' doors down. One thing, though. She will absolutely NOT be going by herself. #1, duh! Freaks! You never know where they live. #2, also duh! Kids are hard to see when they're crouched down in front of a curb, even if there ARE bright signs and they're wearing bright clothing.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker