Yesterday
2006-10-01...2:05 p.m.


It's finally done!

The new underpass is open, and my street is closed at the railroad crossing. Already the traffic is drastically reduced. I can back out of my driveway SLOWLY, without having to pray that people will slow down for me. Hell, if I want to, I can BACK INTO my driveway! Soon, people will realize that they can't go through there anymore, and they'll find other, faster routes to where they're going, and the traffic by my house will be even further reduced.
Before long, the train conductors will realize that there is no longer a crossing there, and they'll stop blaring their horns. They've already stopped laying on the horn like they used to when there was traffic there. Now, they just kind of tap it a few times as they go by.
I'm not really afraid to park in front of my house anymore. I think most of the wrecks that have happened there (the ones that were hit and run) were drunks. The others probably wouldn't have happened if there wasn't so much traffic on such a narrow street.

Anyway. 'Nuff about that.

I had a nice day with the kids yesterday. We went and watched our little small town parade. We stayed for the whole thing. My tatas are now a lovely shade of pink which should soon fade to a sexy tan. Woohoo!

I took them out for a fast food lunch, and then we went to the movies to see "Open Season." We loved it. It was VERY funny, although I kind of see why it was rated PG. Nothing drastic, just some VERY mild language ("crap") and a little inuendo. Oh, and blah blah blah violence. Duh.

Last night was Doc's annual swim party/bbq. I told Corey a few days in advance that I planned on drinking at that party, but at the last minute, he decided that if he went at all, he wasn't going to stay long. When the kids and I got back from the movies, he was dead asleep. I woke him up long enough to tell him he didn't have to go. I headed out by myself and just figured I could take a cab home if need be. Corey called me while I was on my way and told me I could call him when I was ready to go home, if I needed a ride. Which was very sweet, all things considered.
I went to the party, and proceded to get nice and sloshy. I have decided that I love tequila. It takes so little to get me drunk, and it's tasty, too. *cheesy grin*
My supervisor got EXTREMELY drunk. It was kind of disturbing, really. She was dancing with me, and then she fell. She knocked over a couple of chairs AND a table, which almost fell on her before I caught it. She fell asleep in her chair twice.

I think Doc was starting to regret providing the alcohol. :-S

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker