Ever-present "stuff"
2006-06-03...9:16 p.m.


So I was talking to one of my co-workers, who said, "Well, he shouldn't have to do jury duty if he's off of work from an injury."

'Ho-ho!' I thought, 'He has a prescription for pain that could impair his judgment! No jury duty for Corey!'

I hope that works.

We got the kids' report cards. Mercedes' final grades were straight As!!! I was utterly bursting with pride. Corey just took it stride, which kind of makes me want to strangle him. I mean, really, our daughter makes it through 4th grade with STRAIGHT As, dammit! And he barely cracks a smile. WTF? *sigh* Alex's report card was unremarkable, as most kindergarten report cards are. The Ss and Es don't really hold a lot of information. But, it says he's progressed to first grade, so I'll take it as a good sign.

I called my sister-in-law, Tara, yesterday. Things aren't going the way she and hubby Colin wanted them to up in Oregon, and they were struggling to pay a mortgage on their house in Truckee as well as their rent in Portland. They decided to go back to Truckee and do some work on the house there to make it easier to sell. When it does, THEN they'll go back to Portland. In the meantime, they're trying to get pregnant! I'm so excited. I know, I know, here I am again, counting Tara's eggs before they hatch, but I just can't wait to have a little niece or nephew! I'm already starting to plan the baby shower in my head!

Speaking of party planning, I'm also running ideas over in my head for the luau that I REALLY REALLY REALLY want to happen. The one that we're supposed to have when they close our street off at the train tracks. I'm thinking potluck style will be good, as long as we supply the meat. And a little alcohol. *teehee*

Take 5 and pass 'em around - taken from Holly:


5 Things I Will NEVER Own

pit bull

a purse with a chihuahua in it

a Prada (or any other designer-name) bag

an electric jar opener (if I can't retain enough cuteness to attract some guy strong enough to open a jar for me, I don't deserve it's contents!)

a cotton candy machine

5 Things I Will NEVER Become

famous

completely cynical

permanently lonely

the rich old cat lady

a cannibal

5 Things I Will NEVER Eat

other people (see above)

sea cucumbers

scorpions

rocky mountain oysters

real sushi (I will, however, eat California rolls!)

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker