Happy Thanksgiving
2005-11-24...1:32 a.m.


I'm really really really trying to keep this anger thing under control. I'm not exactly sure why, but it seems I can't get through one week without the occasional urge to sit on my husband's face.

With a nice dense pillow between us.

I'm supposed to feel like I can count on him to help me out, but I'm not all that confident about it right now. I got some things done for Thanksgiving dinner today, so that there's not so much to do tomorrow. He asked me to make a list of things for him to do, but when I mention things I'd like done, he says he doesn't know how. Like making pumpkin pies. Well, shit, man, read the goddamn directions on the godforsaken can! Or, like when I called and asked him to pick up some foil because I didn't know if the stores would be open tomorrow. "But I've had some beers!" FUCK! I'm getting more than a little sick of people getting drunk and things that need to be taken care of being dumped in my lap, or in the lap of people that LOVE me, like my Christine.

And why is it that my schedule is the only one that's flexible??? Or that's expected to be flexible, I should say. When the kids need things done, HE isn't exactly the one they go running to. Unless, of course, I'm not home. And even that's a stretch. Why am I the only one takes care of the kids' medical stuff? "This kid has a rash," or, "That kid needs to get shots." Instead of going and taking care of it himself. I could just carry on and on.

Oh, and wtf is up with the referencing t.v. shows? I mean FICTIONAL t.v. shows!!! I called him from work, and told him that I'd managed to spray blood all over my face. I assured him that I didn't get any in my eyes, nose, or mouth. He says, "Yeah, but on HOUSE last night..."

I know!!! WTF?!?


So..........

Instead, I'll try to remember that it's Thanksgiving, and try to enjoy my family, and the food - which is KILLING me right now, because I touched the turkey and licked my finger afterward, and OMG, yummy! And I'm slow cooking the potatoes in the juices from the turkey for mashed potatoes, which I plan to blend with some sour cream.

And I'm going to make a big ol' jug of juice, and a gallon of sweet tea, and I may even put some cider into the crockpot, heck, I may even toss some mulling spices in it, even if just for the scent.

And I want to have Alex show off the little songs that he learned for Thanksgiving for all of us, and I want him to let Mercedes join him. And I just want us all to have a really nice holiday together.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker