suck it up
2005-04-25...5:58 a.m.


It seems that Corey and I were having an issue about scheduling. First of all, I've been adjusting MY schedule to work around everyone else in the household for the last few years. I am willing to do the same when I go to work. My plan was to keep my new job from being any more intrusive than necessary. So I figured that if I worked from 6 pm - 6 am, since I'm going to be working 12-hour shifts anyway, then the impact would be minimal. NOTHING is set in stone yet.

Well, Corey turned it into this monstrous THING. He said he felt like I had just gone and made a decision without him. He's afraid we're never going to see each other. The whole thing is stupid. Of COURSE we'll see each other, that was part of the reason I liked those hours. I'll get home around 6:30 in the morning, see the kids off to school, and sleep until just about the time that he gets home from work. I'll be home and awake until just about the time that he goes to bed, and then I'll go to work. The only lost time will be on the weekends that he has off, and that was bound to happen anyway, no matter WHICH hours I work.

He got me so upset and frustrated that I was ready to go into the hospital today and tell them to forget everything. Forget me getting my 100 draws, and forget hiring me. Then I got angry, and decided I was NOT going to let him make me waste all the effort I've put in, and throw away everything that I've worked for.

Yesterday, I had Mercedes watch Alex so we could take a drive and talk. He's finally come to the decision that he just needs to deal with those hours. I made it clear that I was open for discussion, and if he had any better ideas, it was the time to voice them. He couldn't come up with a better plan, so 6 in the evening until 6 in the morning it is. I just can't see a down side to it.

I'll be there to see him to bed. I'll be there to see the kids off to school, and if they miss their bus, I can still drive them to school. I'll get uninterrupted sleep while everyone else is not home. I'll be home if the kids need help with their homework, after good sleep. I'll even be able to make dinner if I so choose.

Really, the only thing I have to worry about now is the actual days I'll be working.

So anyhow, he's decided he's going to have to suck it up, and we'll figure it out as we go. Like we ever had any other choice.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker