Mildly busy day.
2005-10-09...12:23 a.m.


Well, we're all set for Halloween costumes. Mercedes finally settled on being a black cat, Alex, with a little wavering, wound up choosing to be Mr. Incredible, and I decided on Marilyn Monroe in Seven Year Itch.

Mercedes got a studded spiderweb choker for her kitty collar, a pair of black gloves with claws, black hairspray, black and white face paint, black ballet-type slippers, and the standard black bodysuit and tights. I'll let her borrow my black fur-collared dress coat.

Alex didn't need a whole lot, just his Mr. Incredible suit, which came with the mask. If he wants, I can paint the mask on with the black face paint instead, but other than that, all I have to do is make sure he wears something warm underneath it.

I got a blond wig, a silver-sequined halter dress (because I couldn't find a plain white one), and a set of costume earrings and necklace. I'm pretty sure I have all I'll need for makeup. I'm thinking of picking up some stick on bra-thingies. I can't really wear a bra with the dress, but I REALLY need something for lift, and I need to dig up a slip, because that dress is really thin, and I need to find something to wear over it. Otherwise, I'll freeze my tail off.

So I'm all excited. We should all be absolutely adorable.


Last night, we went out to listen to a local band and drink copious amounts of alcohol - they were selling wristbands for $20 that allowed us to buy top-shelf drinks for 25 cents a shot. As usual, we took a cab home. We got up this morning to go get the car, only to find out that the battery in Dad's car was dead. Corey's thinking that the rodents that were living in it when we weren't using it have done some damage to the wiring, because the battery has been dying a lot lately. But we usually have another vehicle available to jumpstart it. So we walked down to the park, with the intention of hopping on the local transit. Except that when we were still about a block and a half away, we saw the bus come and go. So we kept walking down to the convenience store, and just called a cab. What a pain in the ass!

Can I begin to describe how much effort it took not to shout, "Dammit, didn't I TELL you that car's going to turn into a money pit that WE'LL have to pay for and not even have anything to show for it when all is said and done?!?"

*sigh*

I'm glad I didn't say it though - Corey let it ruin his mood for the following five hours.


We took the kids out to see Wallace and Gromit. It was just as much fun as we'd anticipated, and the kids didn't get bored in the slightest. Full of hilarious innuendo, but very subtle. Tomorrow, I want to take Mercedes to see Corpse Bride.

Tonight, we went out, only for karaoke this time. Tom, Jamie, Steve, and Kathy were already there. Not long after we got there, Alex da Girl showed up with a couple of her friends. I haven't seen her out since before the Hawai'i trip! I didn't even know she was coming, and we wound up dressed to match. Her sister, Rachel, showed up a little later, and we girlied her out with all of our pinkness.


Blech. I have heartburn. And I need to shave my armpits. I'm going to go to bed, I think.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker