That's right, she's MINE!
2005-04-13...1:40 p.m.


Last weekend was an unforgettable experience. I'm so glad that I got the opportunity to get to know Isis on a much deeper level. It's something I will always carry with me.

That said, this is how things stand right now:

My instructor called me with my grade for my final exam for phlebotomy. I got an A! I also got an A for participation, which means that I'll have an A reported for my grade for the class.
I called and talked to the head of phlebotomy this morning, and she says that she needs to get scheduling done for the other students that have already signed up with her, which is fine. I'm looking at getting started possibly this weekend. Carmen told me that they work phlebotomists on 12-hour shifts, so hopefully I can get a schedule where Corey and I at least get the occasional weekend off together once I start working. I'm so excited about getting in there and diving right into the work!

I got a call from the Student Teacher in Mercedes's class. She was introducing herself to parents and trying to develop a repoire with them, as well as delivering progress reports verbally.

My daughter is really something else. I mean, given the strengths and weaknesses of Corey and I, you just don't even KNOW what your going to end up with in a kid. Her grades are certainly acceptable. I mean, her lowest grade (brace yourself) is in spelling. Ninety-one percent. And that's her LOWEST grade!!! She so totally rocks! That's MY baby! Hee hee! Also, she's turned in every single assignment on time, with little to no prompting from Corey and I. After the first quarter, when I found out she was habitually turning assignments in late, she was put on "The signing system," which basically means that her teacher was signing off on assignments that were completed, and noting which assignments were due the next day.

Well, after last quarter, her teacher decided that she needed to become more independent. I still wanted to know what was due and what was not, so Mercedes volunteered to continue the signing system on her own, with out her teacher's help. I have to admit, I was immediately skeptical. However, I decided to put my trust in her hands, and allow her to carry the responsibility. How else is she going to learn, right?

WELL!

She just rocks. She's been totally honest, and she's working better than ever before, and getting better scores on her papers than ever before. I'm just so proud I could burst, and I'm in awe of what an excellent and responsible lady she's becoming.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker