Home Again
2004-08-02...8:53 a.m.


It is so good to be home.

The trip here started of with me just about shitting myself, though. We stopped at McD's to get some breakfast and cash back for gas. The cashier said our card was declined. TWICE. My heart fell into my stomach, which made short work of liquifying it and sending it straight to my bowels. The empty spot where my heart had been started pounding, my head started spinning. Because that card is for our checking account. I jumped out of the van and ran around to the front of the building to use the payphone. Turns out it was just their system, but it still took me awhile to settle down. I was shaking and dizzy from thinking about something going horribly financially wrong 600 miles away from home. Anyway. To top it off, I wound up leaving my card at the other McD's that we went to, and didn't find out about it until we were 300 miles away. *sigh* At least Corey had his, and he didn't get mad at me for it.

We got home around 5:30. While we were gone, my dad did a beautiful job of cleaning up the front yard - it doesn't look all white-trash anymore! Woohoo! Also, he'd been checking the mail for us while we were gone, and I got my award letter from the college. The amount is for full-time enrollment - $1250 per semester. YAY!!! I had only planned on going 3/4 time. But I AM thinking about seeing if there's a journalism class I can take. That would be kinda fun. I'm not interested in photography, but I really like writing, and who knows where that could take me?

I called Christine about 10 minutes after I got home because I'd been so damned homesick for her that it wasn't even funny. Contrary to what Corey may think. I went over after a good hormone-laced freak-out session with Corey, had some coffee, and learned about her breakdown with Paul. I've got to admit, I really don't know where things are headed for those two. I know that she's not really willing to throw away all of the years they've had together, but I also see that it's put such a big strain on her patience and well-being. I don't see them being genuinely affectionate to each other anymore, and it kinda bums me out. It seems as though when one of them asks for a kiss, the other is just on the verge of letting out a huge sigh and saying, "Oh for fuck's sake, let's get this over with." Maybe I'm not seeing the big picture, though. I don't know. I don't know if things would be better or worse if they were to split up. Blah.

Moving on...

I found out that there IS an orthopaedic physician that is in town on Mondays. I don't know anything about him yet (I'm getting ready to check out http://www.arizonawebmd.com though), but I have almost a full month to learn what I can. My appointment isn't until the 30th of this month. I'm dreading and impatient, all at once. I want this shit taken care of, but I'm feeling pretty terrified at the same time. Who knows how this will go though. I may just need some intensive PT.

Anyhow, I'm going to close this

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker