I'm going to have to change the title on my diary to "Bitchfest '05"
2005-06-30...12:20 a.m.


Today started off with me getting a little hot under the collar, and I can tell you, it's not because the cooler was off.

Corey came home from work, woke me up by stumbling through the bedroom door, then proceeded to try to make me feel guilty about sleeping instead of spending time with the kids.

WTF?

Okay, first of all, KIDS GET BORED IN THE SUMMERTIME. This is not some new thing that happened just because I got a job.

Second, I had plans with the kids today, he just never bothered asking me about them. He didn't stay in the room long enough for me to tell him that I'd spent at least an hour last night cutting strips of magazines so Mercedes and I could make paper beads while Alex painted with watercolors (click on the picture to see our projects).

He heard me say that I stayed up watching t.v. and surfing around on the internet, checking out phlebotomy websites (because I'm a nerd like that), and that was all he decided to stick around for. So needless to say, I was burning mad. As if he had any room to talk. If I was still staying at home, he'd have nothing to say about how much time I was spending with the kids, and he surely wouldn't feel any obligation to dedicate his precious time to preaching to the choir.

A sudden interest in playing fun-time daddy doesn't give him the right to criticize me.

Gah. I'm barely making any sense. I think M*A*S*H* is melting my brain.

Anyway, he apologized before I finally told him why I was mad. And he knew what to apologize for, so I guess I shouldn't complain too much. I will, of course, because that is the way of the world. You know, because there's always SOMETHING to get upset about. Like later on today, when he asked if I was going to the store. I said no. I had everything I needed for dinner, so no need to go shopping. A couple hours later, he says, "You should really go to the store anyway, we need some bread."

Good freaking God. Would anyone else be wondering, "Why don't you just tell me what you want?" I got irritated and just went so he'd quit freaking bugging me about it. I got bread, buns, and drink mix. He actually wasn't asking for anything for himself. He apparently just felt the need to drive me straight up a damn wall.

When I got back, he apologized again, claiming he wasn't trying to push me. I said, "What did you want?" His reply?

"I wanted to make sure the kids were taken care of."

Because, you know, I would just let them starve come lunch time tomorrow.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker