Welcome, slithery new friend!
2005-09-22...12:39 a.m.


We've acquired a new member of the family. I think I'm going to call him Shane, if the kids don't come up with a better or more interesting name. He posesses beautiful shades of glistening pink and orange. I haven't measured him, but I'm guessing he's packing about 30 inches of pure muscle.

Shane (for the moment) is a lovely pink-eyed albino cornsnake. He used to belong to Ken, from our respiratory department. He's moving to Florida, and didn't have room, apparently, for the terrarium in his car. He gave us the snake and the terrarium, as well as all of the decorations and obstacles that he already had in it. The tank is huge, so it's sitting in my living room on the floor until I can get Corey (HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Translate that into "until I start trying and thereby convince Corey") to build a stand for it.

Anyhow, little Shane is very sweet, and has apparently had a reasonable amount of handling, as he doesn't freak out when I touch him or pick him up. He's very curious, and seems to be tantalized by the various smells that flavor our home. So, I'm off to research the snake a little, in order to provide him with the most comfortable home possible.


So, it seems that I really miss Corey. I've been thinking about him a lot at work lately, and how much I love him and want to be with him. I feel like a teenager talking about a boyfriend. I'm afraid I come off sounding like a high school girl that's going to get knocked up and abandoned. LOL. It doesn't matter though. Maybe I'm ahead of the game by feeling like that about the man I've been married to for 10 years already. Or maybe I'm getting ready to be dumped...what a gawdawful thought that is. Or - maybe I'm preparing mentally for when he's going to be the only one here that I love and trust and can be myself with.

I was thinking tonight how truly fantastic it is to be with someone who doesn't make fun of me when I tell him my mushy feelings. He doesn't diminish or disparage me for being upset about my best friend's impending move. In a year, he'll be the only one here who comes even close to fully understanding me.


Here's a random thought for you. I don't know really where it came from, but here goes:

Boobies are fun.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker