It's a running theme.
2005-09-07...12:00 a.m.


I have once again put to use ye olde "start the project that Corey was supposed to do, just so he'll decide that I'm doing it wrong and finally get it done" ploy.

I have been asking him to cut down the stupid tree that's been growing in front of our bedroom window and over our clothesline for more than a month now. I mean, SPECIFICALLY asked him to do it. I've been telling him it needed to go from the moment I noticed the little bugger growing out there. So today, I went out with the saw (the one withOUT the disintegrating handle) and cut down the biggest trunk. I came back inside, all sweaty and complaining of the soreness in my arm. I waited for him to ask what was wrong before I told him I'd cut down part of the tree.

A little later, I went to pick up the kids and haul my dad's ass all over creation. When I came back, Corey was in the process of welding Mercedes's bed back together (one of the pieces had broken loose, and she finally wound up accidentally kicking it and knocking out the other weld), the rest of the tree was cut down, and I'm sure he said he'd done something else, but I can't remember what.

"Is there anything else you've asked me to do that I haven't done?"

"No, hon, I haven't actually asked you to do much. Oh, except move that mountain in our front yard into the backyard. You know, since it's been sitting there for TWO YEARS."

This is not the first time that I've had to use this tactic. I can think of at least TWO other occasions. Once, when I got sick of Corey talking about putting grass in the yard, and never doing anything about it, and again when I found out that neither he nor my dad had ever put the fence between us and our easterly neighbors back together after bringing Dad's travel trailer into the back yard. THREE YEARS previously.


I've been going back through some of my old entries, and seeing how childish and whiny I used to sound. I hope I've gotten over that.

Especially since I'm feeling some of those old emotions. A little rejection goes a long, long way. Remember how just a few entries ago, I was wishing just to fool around with Corey?

"I'm just not feeling...active...right now."

I was just trying to kiss him.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker