Summer Homeschool
2004-05-24...2:50 p.m.


Last week, Corey informed me that "we" (heretofore known as "I") should set up some kind of curriculum for Mercedes to improve and maintain some of her skills over the Summer. He hasn't done squat (surprise surprise). So I took the initiative this morning, and I've got a full week's lesson plan written out, and Mercedes has started on it. We have a set of 15 volumes of short stories. This week, she's reading fables. Every day, she will have a new list of vocabulary words and comprehension questions. At the end of the week, she will be expected to write her own fable. Also, I found a website with all kinds of cool activities and lessons, including lesson plans. I snagged one and printed it out. It's 5 chapters long, and if you look in the right place, you can even find quizzes for the material. I also snagged a US map, and I'm making her study it. Hopefully she'll memorize it. So anywho. She's been busy all day. I even took the kids to the park for "P.E." I haven't even gotten a nod of approval or look of surprise from Corey. Nice.

I think I'll go visit Christine this afternoon. I need to take Corey to go fetch the little car beforehand, and I'm sure he wants me to stick around until he goes to bed. Blah. But whatever. I'm going to take the markers, stencils, and posterboard over to her so we can make signs for her yard sale. If I see a cluster of old signs on boxes, I may snag them for her on the way. Ooh, and if I can find them, I'll take over a sheet or two of my sheets of labels. They're too big for price tags, but big stuff can always be made smaller!

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker