It's official
2005-07-19...2:10 p.m.


Last night while I was at work, I decided to give Enterprise a call on their national number. I told them of the issues with the rental car, and it turns out that I should probably have called them yesterday. According to the rep that I spoke to, the branch that I went to was essentially obligated to get them a vehicle, even if it meant eating the cost of a BRAND NEW VEHICLE. The reason for this is that I made the original reservation through the national phone number, and their system claimed that there was most definitely a vehicle available.

So...

I made another reservation with that rep, and she said that if we had that same problem today to please call them, and THEY would handle the branch and get us a car.

So the folks are now driving a 2006 Ford Taurus. How's THAT for service, eh?


I had another new experience at work last night. I was alone in the lab (Vivian was in ER doing a draw) and a Code was called for ICU. This means that someone's heart has stopped, and at least one person from each department is required to respond. Which is fine by me, because I'm SO an adrenaline junkie. So I hauled butt up to ICU. Unfortunately, the poor guy didn't make it, and I was there when they called time of death. Not a massive experience, because his heart had stopped before I got there, and not started at all again before they'd called time, so he was already gone. But interesting to be there for the call, anyway. I was doing fine until I heard his wife wailing in the sitting room outside of ICU. I lost a little of my composure when I got on the elevator, but I got myself together before I got back off of it. Strange how trauma itself doesn't upset me that much, but the effects that it has on the loved ones kicks my ass a little bit.


As I was leaving work and walking across the parking lot to get to the bus stop, my abdominal area started cramping up, and got progressively worse until I couldn't even SIT up straight at the bus stop. I was going to wait it out, but it got so bad that my fingertips were tingling and I was shaking. I tried to walk back to the ER, but I couldn't make it because the pain was so bad. Fortunately, Security was putting (that's PUTTing) along in his little Security Golf Cart, and saw my distress. He helped me onto his cart, called ER on his radio, and had a nurse and a wheelchair waiting for me when we got there.

I got my favorite ER nurse, and she put in my Heplock (that handy little IV catheter thing, just in case you need meds or fluids). Jacey ROCKS, for those of you who have not been told. I get to work with her, so I've gotten to see her work. She never misses when putting in an IV, and she's always able to draw blood off of the site, saving the patient an extra stick by the phlebs. She gave me an 18-gauge needle, and I hardly felt it. She continues to be my hero. LOL.

They took x-rays of my belly and ran blood and urine samples. My blood and urine came back mostly fine, except my blood showed a slightly low level of potassium. Not unusual, though, given the level of activity I'd just been doing during my shift. My x-rays, however, prove what everyone has been telling me for years.

I am full of crap. Literally. I'm not sure how it happened, because I've been going to the bathroom and having successful bowel movements. Even last night at work, because I can't hold it for long when it's that time. But apparently, my intestines are completely full. So I get to take stool softeners and hope that things move along.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker