School anxieties
2004-10-15...12:57 p.m.


I've reached the point of studying where everything feels tedious. I'm getting bored and sick to death of it. The midterm exam for Algebra is tonight, and I'm feeling pretty much like a wreck. I know my weak point - mixture problems, so I've been beating myself to death with them, hoping that they leave deep enough bruises on my brain that I will be able to take notes from them during the test.

Have I mentioned that I'm a pro when it comes to making things hard for myself? Like, I've got this research paper for English that counts as 50% of my grade. I could have chosen ANY story in my Literature textbook. So I chose the one with the author that has ONE FLIPPING BIOGRAPHICAL BOOK about her, and none of the stores or libraries in town have it. I had to order it online. Well, I also have a critical essay, which is due on Monday. The instructor NOW tells us that we can use research from our research paper to help us with the critical essay, because barring certain circumstances, we can write them on the same story. I fall into those circumstances. The critical essay has to be on one of the ASSIGNED selections from the text.

Oh, yes, gold star for YOU! That's right! I didn't choose one of the assigned selections to write my research paper on. FFS.

I still haven't even cracked my CIS books this week. I'm a little distracted with the Algebra exam. As soon as THAT is over, I plan to start the critical essay. Once I at least have an OUTLINE for that, I'll go ahead and start studying the CIS stuff for the week, and maybe write one of the papers.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh! *BREATHING DEEPLY*

Mercedes didn't make it through the dental appointment with Corey, either. She has lost the rights to her pets. I made her pack up the bedding and food for the rats. I was going to have Christie take them, but I guess Corey overheard me telling Mercedes that I don't WANT to get rid of the rats, especially since Natty is mine, but because of her immaturity, I am losing a pet, too. He called this morning and said he'd make a spot for them in our room on the armoire. YAY! Because I really am attached to them - they're so sweet. Plus, I wasn't really all that thrilled about Christie having them anyway, since her mom seems to have such issues with rodents. They're accustomed to a lot of attention, and I'm afraid it just wouldn't be possible with Christie living with her parents. Alex gets her goldfish, and I get the dog. The only things that will really change is that I'll be feeding all of them and I'll be the one playing with them. I was already cleaning the rats' cage, the goldfish tank, and cleaning up dog poop.
All of which, by the way, sounds better than diving back into that math book right now.

On top of all these other wonderful things, I still need to get Dad's car in for an appraisal of the damages, then hopefully get the insurance company of the lady that hit it to send us a check. Golly, gee, will that be in MY name? Sometimes, I wish I was a much bigger bitch than I am. LOL.

p.s. Looking at the title I chose for this, I realize that I wish I would have limited my high school anxieties to JUST academics.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker