"The Talk": Rehearsal 2
2005-10-15...2:31 a.m.


Oh, what a tough subject this is to address.

I'm know you're already aware that there are parts of your body that feel really good when they're touched. No! Don't freak out, I won't talk about that too much. I just want you to know that it's normal, and it's okay. But it's not okay for anyone else to touch you in those ways. You need to know that no matter what anyone says, nobody can hurt you, your dad, me, or your brother for telling us that you've been touched by someone else in a way that is not okay. Also, anyone who touches you that way is NOT okay. And I mean NOBODY. Nobody is even allowed to talk to you about touching you like that, or asking you to touch them like that. If it makes you feel weird, or like blushing, or embarrassed, it's important that you tell me, your dad, or even an adult at school.

I don't really know what you know about sex. I think you know that people that are married have sex, and that having sex makes babies. Don't have sex before you're married. There are so many reasons. First of all, there are diseases, horrible diseases that are spread through having sex. Some cause you to waste away, worse than cancer, because they destroy your immunity. Some can make it so you can never have babies, because they cause cancer on the important parts of your body that carry babies, not to mention that the cancer itself is deadly. There are even parasites that can be spread from one person to another. There are lice that live in the hairs of the crotch. Third, of course, is that sex makes babies. Babies are sweet, and beautiful, and hard work. It's hard to raise a child with two adult parents. It's also very dangerous for a person who isn't an adult to have a baby. It's a bloody, painful process. Fourth, having sex with someone who isn't always going to be there can make you very, very sad afterwards. That person will have seen you naked, and will know things about you that are very private. If they aren't going to be a part of your life for the rest of your life, that means that someone who doesn't love you with all his heart is carrying around that private knowledge of YOU.



Gack. I know that it sounds corny, and I don't know if I'm giving too much information, or too little. I suppose she'll let me know in her own way when we get there.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker