Sweatin' to the "Please hold" Muzak
2005-02-10...1:47 p.m.


Well, there's nothing like getting a great cardiovascular workout first thing in the morning.

Especially when it comes from your bank. In the amount of $900.

In the negative.

Last month, I got a notice that our mortgage payment dropped by $50. I called and asked them to go ahead and raise it by $25 to a nice flat even amount. Unfortunately, I hadn't taken into account that our house payment was coming out on Corey's short week (he works 36 hours one week, 48 the next - it's a 12 hour shift thang). I called the mortgage company to tell them, since they automatically draft the payment out of our checking account. They said it was too late to stop it, and suggested that I put a stop payment on it.
This requires the dollar-amount to be exact, to the penny. To make a long story short, the mortgage company sent the payment through for the wrong amount. The bank paid it, as well as the other 10 transactions we'd made, and charged us a $33 overdraft fee for EACH ONE. This totals $363. Now, I don't care if they keep the money for the mortgage payment (I was going to pay it tomorrow anyway), but I can't have that $363 gone. Not to mention that I quite literally got sick and dizzy at seeing that number with the negative sign in front of it.

I went to a branch of the bank, called the mortgage company, called the bank, went back to the bank to send the mortgage company a fax of the account history and fees, called the mortgage company to talk to the supervisor I'd spoken to previously, got pissed off and hung up because the bimbo on the other end of the line wouldn't give me to another supervisor, let alone the first one I'd spoken to, called back, and was assured that I will have my case researched and resolved within 48 hours.

Hah!

I swear, sometimes I think it would be very nice to out from under Wells Fargo. I can't wait to have this house paid off.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker