New Car
2005-09-01...10:18 p.m.


Well, we�ve done it. There is a shiny new car sitting out in my driveway, all dark grey and big sparkly headlights. We (again, that translates into �I�) spent the last couple of weeks researching, comparing and eliminating dozens of models. We (meaning both of us) had already decided earlier this year, before the accident, that our next car would be brand new. No more messing around with vehicles that we didn�t know the genuine history of. No more questioning what kind of maintenance had been performed. Of course, we weren�t planning on replacing the van so soon � we expected a couple more years of service out of it after having the tranny rebuilt. What this all means is that we hadn�t started discussing or exploring different models of cars, or what we might be interested in the future.


As I�d mentioned in a previous entry, we had been test driving cars, trying to decide which one felt best and we liked the most. They all had excellent crash-test ratings and reliability ratings. Most of them had good consumer ratings. They were also all in the same general price range, except the Hondas � they were a bit cheaper. We had it narrowed down to five models. We finally decided to test the Honda Accord, which was just as squirrelly as the Element when we tested the brakes. Seems to be a Honda trait.

Yesterday, we took the Ford Five Hundred back out for another test drive, to see if it was just as good as we remembered. And indeed it was. They still didn�t have anything in fabric upholstery, but the quality of the car! Wow!

Just a quick word about salesmen. The first one we dealt with at Ford was great. He was helpful and knowledgeable, and un-slimy. Yesterday, when we went back, he was with another customer, and had to let his partner help us.

�What about the Mercury Montego?�
�I don�t want the Montego, I want to look at the 500.�
�Well, it�s the SAME car, just a different logo!�
�Well, then it doesn�t make a difference, DOES it? I WANT to look at the 500.�

A little later�

�Do you have one that doesn�t have a leather interior?�
�No � but the leather interior will give it a better resale value.�
�Well, I when I buy a car, I�m not buying it to resell it, I�m expecting it to be good enough quality to not NEED to resell it.�
�Oh, yeah, me too, when I buy a car I want to get at least 200,000 miles out of it.�

Gawd, what a slime ball. I mean, my HAIR turned greasy just from being within cologne-whiffing-distance of him.

But anyway, Corey and I talked it over, and we decided that we really did have the car we wanted picked out. We checked out the front wheel drive and the all wheel drive. We decided against the all wheel drive for a couple of reasons. First of all, it was the only one hiding in an obscure corner of the parking lot � it had rust on the brakes and there was a spider web woven from the front driver-side wheel well all the way to the ground � with wrapped up bugs already in it. Second, it felt weird when it started up and made a weird noise. Third, it gets worse gas mileage than it�s front wheel drive sisters. Finally, we thought about maintenance on it � it costs about 25% more to get just an OIL change on an all wheel drive vehicle � something we learned from owning the van.

SOooooooooooooooo�.

We talked about the price of the 2005, which we�d been looking at. Corey and I both really hated the interior color of the one that was front wheel drive. So we decided to look into the 2006.

Corey gets a discount through Ford because of where he works � he pays 2% more than Ford employees. The price of the �05, with the promotional employee pricing, was only $400 less than the �06. So, we found one in the color we liked with an interior color we liked (still leather, but we finally just decided to buy seat covers), and they let us take it home and keep it overnight � basically giving us a chance to use it as we would on a daily basis. We picked the kids up from their bus stop in it, ran our errands in it, dropped the kids off at school in it, I even took it grocery shopping.

I flipping love that car. Ahem.

So, we went back today, filled out a gob of paperwork, and actually got approved for Ford financing. At just a little more than half of the interest rate as we were paying on the van! Woohoo! It�s kind of scary that the 500, even after the discount, is almost triple what the van cost us. What�s amazing is that it�s only costing us double the monthly payment. It�s amazing what a better interest rate can do for a loan.

So now the car is slowly starting to take on necessary adjustments. I have loaded 5 discs into the in-dash cd changer � I left the last one for Corey (hee hee). I put our insurance company�s sticker on the side. I screwed up my Dresden Dolls window sticker when I tried to put it on, though. Something had gotten a little splattered on it, and when I went to wipe it off, I smeared it. I�m so mad at myself � I finally have a car with windows that it could be seen through, and I went and screwed it up. Grr.

Anyway, here I am, wishing I had someplace to go. Unfortunately, with the way gas prices are rising, nobody can really afford to just go cruising, so I actually need a reason to go somewhere. Guess I should be glad I have to take the kids to school in the morning!

Things that made me crazy today:
Having my phone disconnected (and shortly reconnected) because all the stupid insurance crap made me forget to pay the bill

Things that made me happy today:
Listening to Dresden Dolls in the car again and getting a comparably fantastic interest rate

On the Mental Radio Station:
Bad Habit � Dresden Dolls


the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker