Beltane '04
2004-05-02...7:52 a.m.


Beltane was beautiful. The weather was perfect. The kids were mostly well-behaved. If I'd remembered before yesterday that it was GOING to be Beltane, I would have picked up some ribbon for the Maypole, but that's okay. There's always next year. I made some hard-boiled eggs (which I colored with one of the Easter egg kits I got for 5� hee hee), cut up a watermelon into bite size chunks, using the shell for a bowl, and arranged a small altar with the watermelon, other fruits, dried roses from a wedding anniversary (courtesy of Christine), peanut M&Ms, Spring-deco cups with nifty wrap-around straws (also 5� at an Easter clearance sale), and two little egg-shaped baskets with season-appropriate chalk. We ate, drank, colored on the sidewalk, and planted seeds in the little baskets. The kids were gassy the rest of the day from all the fruit (we ate half of a 5 lb watermelon between the three of us!) and a good time was had by all.

Corey even helped me celebrate with a beautiful round of (sorry Christine - KenDollKenDollKenDollKenDollKenDollKenDollKenDollKenDoll) lovemaking. Yay! Not too fast, not too slow. And, may I say, DAMN. I don't know if anyone else tries to think about what she want for her future and tries to pray for it whilst in the midst of an orgasm that feels so good you could die happy then and there, so let me tell you, it's not easy. It makes ritual sex very interesting though!

Last night was even great. I'd been thinking about my friend Rachel all day, wishing I had a way to get in touch with her so I could invite her over for a small Beltane celebration. Around 7:30 or so, she called. I wished her a Happy Beltane, and she said, "OMG I totally forgot that was today. That's okay, though, it's a perfet day to tell you I'm pregnant!" She told me she and her mom were on their way over to DQ, and they would pick up something and head over. I lit some candles in case they wanted sit outside because the night was so nice. The candle Isis gave me blew out once, and I got a little upset, and told the wind it could blow out any candle but that one, and relit it. LOL! They brought us a whole box of Dilly Bars. How can you argue with a woman who brings you chocolate coated ice cream on a stick???

Anyway, she JUST got her divorce finalized this week, and now she's pregnant with her boyfriend's baby. Which, I guess, isn't so bad, because apparently they've been talking about getting married for a couple of months or so. I can't help but feel happy for her, especially since she seems really happy with him, and really happy about the pregnancy. She wanted another anyway, although she had mentioned something about not necessarily wanting a man to stick around after the "donation." LOL! The funny thing is that she told her (finally) ex-hubby right after the judge told them the divorce was final, and he got totally flustered and distressed - enough so that she was wishing she hadn't gotten on the elevator with him. Geez...Anyhow, it wasn't a bad ending to my good day. Beltane may have found it's way to my list of favorite holidays!

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker