Beautiful Day!
2004-04-27...2:46 p.m.


Well, damn! How much fun was today???

I took Christine out shooting today, hoping to get some snakes. No luck finding snakes, but I did get a couple of cottontails, and she got the chance to shoot at a couple of rabbits and a squirrel. A great time was had by all. We did have to stop a little early, thanks to heat and (I'm guessing from the weight of the air) humidity, so we went back into town, where she treated for drinks and fries. Since I had to be home at a certain time so my dad could go to work (he was sitting with Alex), we headed back to my house.

*serious note - it was so awesome to get to spend that time with her and not have to worry about when she would have to be back!!!*

When we got there, I asked if she wanted to sit in on a skinning. Fortunately, it wasn't nearly as bad as what she thought - dead animals tend to not bleed much for several reasons:

1)Their hearts aren't beating anymore,

2)Their blood has congealed,

3)They're cold

Once they warm up, they tend to bleed a little more, but it's typically not too bad, although it's pretty gross if their blood congeals in the layer between the skin and the endodermic layers. Pretty nasty indeed.

I'm in such a great mood! The time away with Christine sans either of our families, then getting to share something I really enjoy and take some pride in with her, and then a little later on, I'm going to go out with hubby and play in a trivia tournament. Loads of fun! And I was pleasantly surprised to be so thrilled to see Corey after work today. I feel like I could burst!

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker