MY holier-than-y'all moment.
2004-11-13...3:32 p.m.


Ah, Rachel, Rachel, Rachel. Oh, and Donna - but I'll get to her later.

Rachel had her baby shower today, and I got to see her brand new home. It's huge. There are two bedrooms,a bathroom, a giant kitchen, a living room, a den, a utility/laundry room, and a family/dining room. On the first floor. On the second floor, there are two more bedrooms and this interesting 'tween rooms bathroom thing. The area where the two bedrooms meet has a counter and two sinks, and there's another door across from the counter which leads to a tub and toilet.

The place is huge and gorgeous...and an absolute mess. There is no way that I could have a place that looked like that and let it be in that condition. And it's so BARE. They don't have any real furniture in there yet, except for the beds. It just feels so odd. Almost like they're camping out in there. Not that any of this is important, I just get such a weird feeling about the place. I think she should go ahead and hire a maid. Not a nanny, because she's happy and comfortable with her role as a mother. But everyone, including her, knows that she was never designed to be a housekeeper. If someone could go in for, say, 3 hours a day just before dinner, things would be great. That someone could go in, clean house for an hour, make dinner, take care of putting away leftovers and washing the dishes, and be on her merry little way. Now, you see, if I was a Christian, and went to a church, surely I would be able to find someone who would be willing and able to take such a gig for, oh, I don't know, $100 a week? You know, under the table. Sure, it's not quite $5/hour, but it'd be like making $7 an hour, since it's tax-free. *sigh*



Anyway, where was I? Oh, yes. Donna. Donna actually admitted to me that she's going back to Ohio to wait for Brian to get out of jail. "I just love him." Well, GREAT. Fine! Love him! But right now (and I'm not saying this to her, I'm just getting it out here - I'm still struggling with that "not interfering" goal) she needs to love her kids. Do what's best for them - she's only got another 13 years before her boys are all grown up, and Akristia has just a few! She needs to realize that he's not the best thing for them as a FAMILY. Once the kids are grown, I hope she DOES go back to him, and lives whatever kind of life she's willing to live with him. Because right now, it's not ABOUT her. This "lifestyle" of moving all the time and not having any roots and not having any consistancy is fucking THEM up, not her.


Now that I've had MY holier-than-y'all moment. Sheesh. I just want to say that I picked up two adorable tops from Penney's today for $4.77 each. Way cute, and extremely festive - I'll be wearing one of them for the annual holiday party for the company this year, maybe with a denim skirt. Heh.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker