-
2012-08-13...7:42 a.m.


For some things, Facebook is just too open. Not really good for journaling. Daily ranting and random thoughts are good there, but to really let myself out, I think this is where I have to do it.

So...Corey has had a run-in with thyroid cancer. Surgery to remove half of the offending gland in March. Follow-up ultrasound in September. He has quit smoking upon further threat to his beer-money ("quit smoking or tell the insurance company that you're a smoker again, I'm not going to have the kids and I get screwed out of the life insurance policy if you die." Yeah. I said that).

I've chased off another best friend, and I don't know that I'm all that upset about it. My cousin thinks that the world revolves around her and her issues. Gets mad at me for not "being there" for her, but when I need to talk, she turns every conversation into something about HER problems. So, I've left the door open if she wants to make amends, but I'm not begging and I'm not fretting. Much.

I've decided that Corey really is my best friend. He forgives my screw-ups every time. And I can trust him. He's also made a lot of changes to accommodate me. I think he's almost caught up to the changes I've made to myself for him, so...compromise...I guess that's what makes the marriage last. Also, do NOT hang out with divorcees. They can give you the "break-up bug." It's hard to hang out with people who are single and see the freedom they have to be all their own selves. It's even harder to hang out with someone who makes you think about all of the flaws your spouse has, and then not hold those flaws against him when you get home.

My kids are almost grown, in other news. My daughter is taking FOUR dual-credit classes. And two easy-A classes, which I have to say, I think is perfectly fair and reasonable.

My son is off to a good start this year. He was bullied pretty bad last year. It looks like the bullies are either getting a late start, or maybe this year will be better, as he did get really tall over the summer. He's just about towering over me, and is either close to, or just over, his sister's height, now.

Interesting. I just realized that I'm much more concerned about my grammar, spelling, and punctuation in this format than Facebook, as well.

Myystic, if you're reading this, I still love you and wish you were part of my life. I'm sorry for making you feel neglected. I'm not sure if Corey influenced me to be that kind of person, but I don't think so, because he seems to be much better to his friends than I am to mine. Maybe I'm just lazy.

Well, dear Diaryland, I think this is it for now. Thanks for giving me a safer place to write.


the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker