-
2010-04-12...10:43 a.m.


Oh, where to start, after such a long stop? I wonder if anyone will notice that I've said anything at all.

So...blahblahblah, Christine is no longer my best friend. She doesn't want anything to do with me, and at this point, I'm finally angry about it and she can feck off. I have too many good things and people in my life to sweat the loss of a friend that I never meant as much to anyway, and that stopped wanting to do anything with me once I did all the things she only ever TALKS about. If she wants to sit in that cave of hers and just rot, complaining about everyone that's ever touched her life and pushing every other person except her husband away, then so be it.

That said...

Good things in my life? Corey and I are celebrating our 15th anniversary in two months! We're going to be renewing our vows and having a great big party with our family and closest friends. I have to admit, I've gotten a little carried away with the invitations, but I know a lot of people are not going to be coming in spite of their invitations, not for the least of which will be the lack of alcohol - I'm not serving it 1) because I'm not sending people driving down a curvy mountain road after they've been drinking, and 2) it's too expensive! Otherwise, a lot of people won't be able to make it due to geography.

It's funny. People go, "Awww, you're getting the wedding you never had!"
To be honest, it's the wedding I didn't care about when we got married in the first place. This isn't about reclaiming anything, it's about celebrating the wonderful, amazing, strong, beautiful life that we've built together. Anyone can get married. Not everyone gets to celebrate 15 years of successful marriage.

Anyway, my dress is safely tucked away at my friend Gena's house, the food is halfway paid for, the venue is paid for, the decorations have been procured, my first step-dad's sister is making the cake. The only big things left are the flowers and dressing the rest of the family, and of course paying for the food after the final head-count.

As of next month, I will have been a phlebotomist at my hospital for 5 years. I've been made lead night phlebotomist, which is like a supervisory/training position that doesn't come with a title or raise, but I'm really enjoying it. I get to train the newbies, and build them up the way I like them, with a strong sense of duty to those who follow them.

The five years of experience also qualifies me to teach at the local community college. I'm seriously considering applying for the next semester. Again, it doesn't pay much, but the opportunity would be great, and who knows what it could open me up for?

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker