-
2007-11-08...2:09 p.m.


Sometimes, the little things in life pile up and wear me down and make me angry at the world in general. This is normal, I think.

But, sometimes, the little things in life add up to make me feel really GOOD about everything.

I feel great about my relationship with Corey. Every once in awhile, we get a little time to ourselves where we aren't completely absorbed in the small stuff. We go out for coffee, and we sit and have the most animated and interesting conversations, and I can't help but think, "Is everyone watching? I hope so, because this is where it's at."

My daughter brought home a MIDDLE SCHOOL report card full of As and Bs. She gets out of the car every school day with a positive attitude and looks forward to her classes and seeing her friends. This did not seem possible last year, when she was sullen and miserable all the time.

My son and I have a drop-off ritual. As soon as we pass the first tree in the school parking lot, he's allowed to take off his seatbelt. When we come to the stop sign, he gets up and leans forward to give me a hug and a kiss. When he gets out of the car, we blow each other kisses and hugs and sign "I love you" to each other. He does all of this with no shame, and I think he might be heartbroken (as would I) if I ever drove off without our morning ritual. At least, I would like to think so.

Yesterday, Alex told me that even if we weren't family, he'd still want to be friends with me.

How cool is that?

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker