Can this be crappy thing #3? Please?!?
2007-10-28...4:14 p.m.


The past couple of weeks, things have NOT gone my way.

First, our Dish receiver died a slow and painful death. It struggled and fought and clung with all its might, but still it died. We were sent a replacement, though, and it works. However, I had to miss House one week, and the next, I forgot to set it to be recorded, so I missed it, too. Grr!

Second, I signed up for DSL and digital phone service, with the promise of a free computer. It was supposed to arrive on Wednesday, the same day that the service guy was supposed to show up, so that he could set it up for me. When it didn't come, I emailed the delivery service, they said there was a handling error, but it would be here Friday. When I got home from work Friday, there were two small boxes on my kitchen table. I thought maybe they were speakers or software or something. When I opened the first one, there was a nice Kodak digital camera inside. Mercedes was there with me, and said, "If there's one in the other box, can I have it?"
"If there's another one in there, it's yours," I senselessly answered.
Sure enough, there was another one. I looked at the label on the outside of the package, which said that box 1 contained a monitor, 38 lbs. Box 2 read that it held a desktop, 30 lbs. I'm still trying to get this resolved, and tomorrow when I call the company I have a contract with, I had damned well better get to keep at least one of the cameras AND get sent a new computer overnight AND get the shipping charge taken off of my phone bill.

Third, I went to Walmart to get my new prescription and glasses on Thursday. They told me my new glasses would be there by October 31. Imagine my surprise and excitement (new frames, new style, new color, clearer vision, HELLO!) when they called this afternoon to tell me they already had them! Corey and I headed down to pick them up. I tried them on, and thought, "Wow, this new prescription is going to take some getting used to." The optician took the glasses to make some adjustments to the frames so they would sit on my face right, then brought them back. I put them on again, and still was surprised at the change in the vision. Then I closed my left eye, and thought, "WTF?" I couldn't read one of the signs hanging in there. The optician took the glasses and checked them against the paperwork.
"You're right, the right lens IS wrong. This number says you need 150, and they entered it as 15."

I felt like crying.

So if this can be it, I'd be really, really grateful. Thanks.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker