-
2007-01-10...12:51 p.m.


Happy new year!

Just a few scattered things on my mind.

I want to write a novel. I don't even know if I CAN, but I want to try. I don't even know what kind of novel, what genre, even. But I'm going to make an effort, anyway.

I want to learn more about some of the areas in Oregon. Corey and I have talked about moving there both times that we've gone. I want to see if I can find some online groups, and find out if 1) it's someplace I really want to be, and 2) I can make a friend or two before we actually make that kind of a move. I don't want to start out alone, and I don't think I should depend on work to provide me with people that I can connect with on a personal basis.

I told Mercedes that Corey and I are smoking again. I explained to her that sometimes it takes a few tries before true success. I asked her not to pressure us, and explained that it's just a choice we're going to have to make when we're ready. I told her that we don't want to smoke in front of her and Alex, for a couple of reasons. We don't want to influence Alex by letting him see us smoking. We also don't want to expose them to the health risks of second-hand smoke. She was very understanding and supportive, and took the news much better than I anticipated.

I have a stupid nasty cold. Not SUPER nasty, it's not even showing up on a CBC, but enough to make eating a challenge - certainly not something I want to do in public - because I can't breathe through my nose, and nobody wants to see my half-chewed food by accident. Sleeping is a bear, too. I have to keep changing sides because my sinuses keep draining to the side I'm laying on. Blech. And the SNEEZING. Dr. Carman told me yesterday that he loves sneezing. I told him to bear a couple of babies, then get back to me.

Lazy, Cranky Tech, the one who won't get off her rear long enough to go around her counter to unload centrifuges? I TOTALLY burned her the day before yesterday. There's a small centrifuge that sits right in front of her, and that's where we put STAT & ER specimens. Twice in a row, I had to empty it because it was just sitting there beeping at her.

"Oh, no, LCT! I think your arms are shrinking!"
"What? What are you talking about?"
"Now you can't even reach the STAT centrifuge!"
"Oh, I am so sick of this crap."
"My crap specifically, or everyone's crap in general?"
"Ugh. Everyone's crap, but right now, just YOURS."

Teehee. Sometimes it really feels good to get a good burn off.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker