-
2006-12-28...8:26 a.m.


We're safe and sound in soggy Oregon.

Our trip was pretty much uneventful. We made it to Corey's parents' place in Folsom @ about 1:30 a.m., but I'm not sure by which time zone that is. We had a nice Christmas morning/evening that wasn't too terribly overwhelming with gifts and company, which is a nice change.
I vehemently refused to leave Folsom without purchasing chains, and according to the radio, it was a good thing. They were saying that we would be going through a checkpoint just before Mt. Shasta, where they would be inspecting all vehicles to make sure they had chains in their posession. We got stuck in a deadlock there, but by the time we got to the checkpoint, they were just waving cars through. The restrictions had been lifted, and it was smooth sailing the rest of the way.
We had another nice Christmas with my Mom, Jim, and Sasha.
Sasha. Wow. I now see the benefits of spending my early formative years with my dad.
Don't get me wrong, she can be adorable and sweet. But she can also belt out the shriek of a banshee when she doesn't get her way. I'm just not used to it. And it's hard to just let my mom handle it, especially since she doesn't handle it "my way."
Mom and Jim seem to be pretty happy. They've been in this house longer than I was EVER in just one place growing up. They're very comfortable in their community. And I'm sure that's what makes a place home.
Today is Mercedes's 11th birthday. My goodness. That officially makes me 30. She is growing up to be such a beautiful, intelligent, pensive (albeit melancholy at times) human being. With big feet. lol. She's got kind of a complex about them, especially now that they're bigger than mine. I keep telling her, "You're going to be glad they're so big when you get taller, and you have something to hold them up!"
Alex and Sasha have become fast playmates. They're both so strong-willed, it's almost comical to watch the struggle for power. Alex's two years on him, though, have lent him a little wisdom, and he usually relents before she does (if there's no intervention) if things get too ridiculous.
Tomorrow we head up to Portland to see Corey's sister and brother in law. I hope the weather holds!

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker