-
2006-06-12...7:50 p.m.


Coffee Night was great (except the traditional stop at the Claw Machine - curse you, color-blind-test-turtle!!!). Christine talked about an option she's exploring for weight loss, and while it's not my favorite, she's really putting some thought into it and researching it well. I know that whatever route she decides to take, she'll be sensible about it. I can't wait until she gets to a size she's comfortable with - anything that makes her feel better about who she is makes me happy! Besides, I'm curious to see the butterfly hiding in that chrysalis.
I hope that's normal - wondering what your best friend would look like with a third of her weight gone!


Today, I took Mercedes in for her appointment to meet our new doctor. Everything looks pretty good - she's in the 75th percentile for height AND weight, her lungs sound good, her ears and throat look good. Then the doctor listened to her heart, and made a "WTF?" face. That's a not-good face. He says she has a heart murmur. I said, and thought, "Well, that's nothing to worry about, right?"

He ordered an echocardiogram. I'm still pretty sure it's nothing to worry about. She's a healthy, active girl. It's just scary being told that your child needs to go see a heart surgeon. Her month long vacation, including summer camp, is still on. She sees the cardiologist on the thirteenth of next month. I don't see any need or sense in panicking and calling off all physical activity. Don't get me wrong, I feel the WANT to panic. I'm just not going to let myself.


the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker