-
2006-05-29...8:56 p.m.


Time is a funny thing. There's never enough of it. There's sometimes too much of it. It usually passes too quickly, but sometimes it just drags on.

I'm itchin' to get plans laid for our anniversary. 11 years isn't a landmark anniversary, but each one is special, right? So I want to do something grand. The problem is that I can't make any plans or reservations, because we won't know where Corey stands regarding work until June 1st. That means that while the last 11 years have FLOWN by, the next three DAYS are going to just plod along. That's when we'll know if Corey gets to go back to work or not. I hate to sound pessimistic, but I'm not feeling very optimistic - I don't think he's going to get to go back to work for awhile.

Also, June 1st is the last day of the school year, and my, how quickly the school year has gone past! Alex graduates from kindergarten, Mercedes is entering her last year of elementary school.

Another time-related issue:
In three weeks, I'm going to day shift. 7:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. That's only 10 working days and a week's vacation away, yet it's going to feel like forever. I look on this with mixed feelings. There are so many reasons I like the night shift. I dread having to get used to a whole new set of people. But, I guess I asked for it. And so did Corey, even though he's suddenly worried about me going to day shift, whatever the fuck THAT'S all about. I also worry about how it'll affect my time with Christine, although I think it'll make it easier to spend time with her in the more "human" hours. I know I've talked about this before, but it's really weighing on my mind, and until I get going on days, I think it's going to encompass a lot of my brain time.

On a happier note, I did get to go out for coffee with Christine last night. She says she feels like all she talks about are the major changes she's trying to make in her life - quitting smoking and losing weight - but it's okay by me. I understand. I was the same way when I quit smoking, and when I was working out all the time, and when I started school and my job. When you're really focused on something important, it's at the forefront of your mind. That makes it easy to talk about, and it's hard to focus on anything else.

Our camping trip this weekend was mostly a success. We forgot a few important items, but it was a learning experience, and I think we'll be better prepared for next time. We pitched our tent, set up our kitchen, had campfire meals and a crapload of PB&Js. We read stories, toasted marshmallows, played games. We fished and caught trout and crawdads. We got sunburnt in all the little spots that we missed with the sunblock, but we didn't get any bug bites. So in spite of the few things that were forgotten or not even thought about, I think it qualified as a successful camping trip. **************************************** By the way, I've been teased because I won't buy anything that I would display that has Chinese or Japanese characters on it, because I don't want to be made a fool of by not knowing for sure what they mean. I today found a website dedicated to just such victims: Hanzi Smatter Laugh all you want!

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker