-
2005-12-09...12:59 p.m.


So here's my extra-special clever IDEA for Corey's Christmas present.

He always says he wants tools. I don't like buying his tools, I never know what he needs, wants, or will actually use. I told him so. So he says, "Well, a gift card for Home Depot or Sears would be great, then I can get whatever I want or need, or if I want to start a project, I can."

So.

My idea is this: What if I got a shoebox. Then covered this shoebox in gift cards from different people in whatever denominations they can afford. Then fill the shoebox with sentiments from all contributors. I could then wrap it in a cellophane bag. Wouldn't that be fun? I think that would be GREAT fun! And affordable for everyone. Even a $5 gift card would be cool!

I'm full of silly ideas like that. I'm full of other stuff, too, but that's not the point.


Yesterday was Corey's birthday. His THIRTIETH birthday. I just can't believe it. Do you know that we have spent our entire adulthood together? We've celebrated ten years of marriage, but we've been together for 13 years. You know, I never imagined 30, not for either of us. I can't believe it. He's officially started the third decade of his life. Wow!

We had a good night. We went out for dinner at his favorite Chinese restaurant. I dropped him and Dad off at the bar so they could hang out for a little while, and I went home and played Sorry! with the kids. I won *blush* but I had them keep playing after I was out. Mercedes won next, and we let Alex keep drawing until he'd won, too. Then I went and picked up the guys.

Corey and I went out for karaoke (which is kinda funny, because that's "my thing," not really his, but it was what he said he wanted). When we got there, the place was DEAD, and Corey suggested finding Paul and Christine. I agreed, thinking that since they're both pretty self-conscious about singing with a big crowd, they would be able to relax and enjoy themselves. I'm not 100% certain, but I think I was pretty right on the money. We had a great time, the company was good, and the singing was fun. Of course.

Afterwards, Corey and I went out for a late-night snack at Denny's. We had a long, fun conversation about MUSIC. Just what we think of music, what makes music good, why most of the music I love best never gets radio play, why none of the music he loves best seems to make any sense to me. It was just fun, the kind of conversation we used to have when we were DATING, and it was great.

When we got home, we took a shower to warm up, then crawled into bed, supposedly to go to sleep. But it was only 2 a.m., and I'm used to being quite awake at that hour, and I couldn't shut up. So we talked even more, about things like the changes we're both experiencing, and the changes we're trying to make, and our goals, and it was also amazing. I thought I pretty much wasn't in the mood, but when I asked him to trade places with me, I realized otherwise, and we made love in a way we haven't for months. It was very affectionate, and there was lots of kissing and caressing and embracing involved, and it was fantastic and erotic and beautiful. Which I haven't felt for awhile. So it was an awesome end to the night, even though it left us both very short on sleep.


Today is a good money day. Corey got paid, because it's payday, but it's better than that, even. He got his check for back pay from worker's comp for his shoulder injury. AND he got his production bonus check. Which gives us enough money to pay for everything in layaway (even though we're not getting it all), pay the house payment, pay the installment on the sidewalks, AND pay the utilities. So woohoo!

And we BOTH get paid next week, which means that I'll be able to afford to get his OTHER Christmas present, if I can find one. I want to get him a custom-framed print (no smaller than 36" wide with the frame) of Michael Parkes's "Gargoyles." It's his favorite artist, and his favorite painting, and I've never been able to afford it. But I think this year, I can! I CAN! And I'll let him hang it anywhere he wants, because it's a beautiful image. In the living room, in our bedroom, hell, I'd even let him hang it in the kitchen if he wanted to.


the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker