A new day
2005-05-12...9:49 p.m.


I have to say, there is one weird thing about this job I have. I come home, and I feel completely seperated from it. It feels like my day was a dream, unless, of course, you consult my feet. They'll tell you that it was all real and twice as hard as it really was. The funny thing is that I'll go back tomorrow, and slip right into form. I'll recognize the names of people that I've drawn this week.

I can't wait until Saturday. I have one last test to take. If I pass, I'll be certified nationally, and I'll get a raise. It's only 42�/hour, but it's a good start. I'm hearing rumors that Denise is petitioning to get the phlebs a $1/hour raise, as well. That would put me up to $9.83/hour. Not bad. The last job I had paid $6/hour.

Another thing I'm realizing is that I feel a lot less pressure. I don't feel so overwhelmed about everything. I don't feel guilty about asking for help around the house. I don't feel guilty for asking Corey to spend more time with the kids. I'm enjoying his occasional visits to the hospital cafeteria with me. Yesterday was the hospital bbq, and we took the kids. I got to introduce Corey to some of the people I work with in the lab, including my boss. There are a few people that I really, really like working with - Annette, our bacteriologist, is just great. I liked her from the moment I met her. I like working with Denise, my boss. Marcy, another phleb, is great (although she wasn't at the bbq). Those three people in particular have made me feel very welcome, and have helped me build up my confidence.

I've worked really hard to make sure that I ask questions when I'm not sure about something. Sometimes I worry that I'm getting on the techs' nerves, so I apologize. I know it'll all come with time, and it'll become habit to know which tests and which tubes go where, and whether I need to send them out or make slides or spin them or rock them. I AM beginning to recognize tests and which tubes they belong in. I'm also getting better at trusting my senses. I get more successful draws from feel than I do from sight. I very rarely miss now, and if I don't get a vein the first time, I get one the second time. I'm getting better at gaining the confidence of my patients, including those who are of "altered mental status." And trust me, that is NOT easy. Sometimes it involves going along with the patient, and agreeing that what they are going through is not fair, and that, well, we'll just show those sneaky doctors how brave we are, won't we?

I guess my point, though, is that I had been worried about carrying emotion from work over to home. The only thing that seems to be carried over, though, is the enthusiasm that I have, for doing something worthwhile that I enjoy so much.

Oh, and I got my new scrubs from eBay today! Very very cute! The only thing I'm wishing is that the bottoms had come in more than two colors, and no white, but I guess I'll get over that. Everything is really nice, and just as described. Plus, I'll have blue scrubs to wear for blue day tomorrow. Hee hee!

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker