-
2005-10-29...9:06 p.m.


soooooooooooooo...last night...

Last night, I was sitting here at work, most likely composing my LAST entry, when the phone rang. It was Corey, calling to tell me that my dad wasn't home, but he had to leave for work.

I passed through many layers of fury and rage and hurt. I felt sorry for myself, wondering why it is that I can't seem to rely on ANYONE in that household half the time. I called and called and called my dad's cell phone, to no avail. Finally, I gave up, and was going to draw the 1:30 patient, and then go home.

Before I left to get the blood, however, one of the techs informed me that I had a friend in the ER waiting room. I popped over and saw Christine, MY Christine, and her (at this particular moment in time) HEAVENLY roommate, and the first thing that hit me was anxiety about whether everyone in THAT household was okay. Christine told me not to worry, they just came to SEE me.

I told her the situation, and they immediately offered to go watch the kids. And when they got there, not only did they stay to protect my kids, they CLEANED my kitchen, TIDIED my living room, and just generally made me feel loved.

*sigh*

I don't know how I can make up something like that to either of them. Just the fact that she was THERE in my time of need, when I didn't even call her, and she just felt the need to be near me...I can't even describe it. It just feels a lot like that connection that I have with my father's side of the family, where we just happen to end up where we're needed most at just the right time.

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker