Two day catch up
2005-07-30...3:53 p.m.


So this is where I'm sitting, right now:

It all started yesterday. First off, Corey called his dad to find out about getting our van fixed. All of a sudden (not like we had a flippin' WEEK to get this done before) Corey wants a second opinion. Only the place he wants his dad to take it to can't do the estimate until Monday. So I'm left thinking, "There's no goddamn way my van is going to be fixed by Thursday morning," which is the day we have to leave to get back in time for me to be at work. We'd have to leave by 6 a.m.

Corey and I had plans to go out with his new buddy (woohoo! and that's not sarcasm!) from work, and the guy's wife. I woke up yesterday afternoon, and Corey was in a sweet and loving mood. Then the toilet paper happened.

How, you may ask, does toilet paper happen?

Toilet paper happens when you run out and your hubby gets upset and angry about it. And then YOU get mad, because it's the stupidest goddamn thing in the world to get mad about, especially when you have suitable substitutes (tissue and paper towels).

He wasn't the same the rest of the day, and I'm sure part of it is my fault. I'm not interested enough to disect and analyze it, though.

So anyhow, we gathered ourselves and my dad up to go out with Mangas. I'm not kidding, that really is his name. It just SOUNDS like a guy Corey would want to hang out with. A manly man's name.

ANYWAY...

We got to the restaurant we were all supposed to meet at, and he wasn't there. Corey borrowed Dad's cell phone and called him. Turns out he had to bone out because his wife had to work. So I was feeling highly disappointed. I was really looking forward to meeting them, and it was a no-go. The rest of the night just felt kinda "blah" to me.


Now it's today.

Today has gone pretty well. Not as spastic as I'd expected it to be, considering how much we had planned:

1) Bowling day with Corey's company
2) Company picnic for the hospital
3) Date with friends Paul and Sarah tonight

Corey won the prize for bowling. He's very good. Has his own balls, sack, $60 wrist brace, and shoes. And he LOOKS like he knows what he's doing. You know those bowling trophies? With the guy on top? I think Corey modeled for them.

Anyhow, we headed home to see if Dad wanted to go to the picnic with us. Since we were already home, I decided to call Corey's parents to see if Mercedes was back from camp yet.

"Alex got sick and threw up twice in the car, so she's getting a ride home from some good friends of ours from church."

*insert indignant wtf smiley here*

I'm very emotional about this, for a couple of reasons. Again, I'm upset because I'm not there to scope these people out and approve the solution. Also, I have this horrible image of my little girl, standing at the edge of the pavement, in tears, wondering why HER family didn't come and get her. This vision is tearing me apart. I hope she's friends with the kid that she's getting a ride home with. And what if she gets hurt or sick on the way back? Those people don't have clearance to get her medical attention! I hope she's not scared. I'm scared enough for her.


Okay, now get ready for the banjos, overalls, and trailer park:

My best friend's ex-roommie's "fiance'" is in the hospital with heart trouble (insert "no shit, Sherlock, that's what happens when you dump a few dozen EGGS on top of your bad heart" smiley here). I'm allowed to divulge this information, because he made it personal. He was not my patient. He called down to the lab and asked for me. Before you ask, I don't freaking KNOW why. Apparently, Christie thought it would be fun for him to call me and tell me he was there. No particular reason for him to call me. He didn't call to say, "I only want Shannon drawing my blood."

I ran into Christie a little later by the elevators. Apparently, she's injured herself at work (insert "golly gee what a shock" smiley here). She's not supposed to lift more than 10 lbs. And she and her boyfriend have to be out of their house by this weekend because of some supposed stupid situation with the landlord. The long and short of it is this: Joe cleaned up the yard and was told he could toss a couple of swamp coolers. He fixed them up instead and sold them. Landlord is supposedly claiming that he sold stolen property. The end. So Christie is moving her daughter into her ex-hubby's mother's house. She's moving into her car. I guess Joe is moving into the hospital, though I'm not exactly sure.

*cue end of cheesy banjo music*

the last trail...the next path

Lilypie Next Birthday Ticker